LuckyGirl MEDIA recommends

Choices and Trends for Women "from Teens to Grandmothers"

$45,000 for First Time Playwrights, Women and Minorities — The American Playwriting Foundation

$45,000 for First Time Playwrights, Women and Minorities

Our fingers will be typing!
The American Playwriting Foundation
Special Thanks to who alerted everyone to this award on Feb 9, 2015 in his Blog . Please read him!

the relentless award

The Relentless Award, established in honor of Philip Seymour Hoffman and his pursuit of truth in the theater, is the largest annual cash prize in American theater awarded to a playwright in recognition of a new play.

What we are
looking for:

Plays that are challenging.

Plays that exhibit fearlessness.

Plays that are not mainstream.

Plays that exude passion.

Plays that are relentlessly truthful.

The American Playwriting Foundation encourages submissions by first time playwrights, women and playwrights of color.


The author of the Relentless Award-winning play will receive $45,000.

The winning playwright will have the option to have the winning play published by the Dramatists Play Service.

The winning playwright will have a week-long residency at SPACE on Ryder Farm, an artist residency program housed on a working organic farm in Brewster, New York. The author can elect to have a director, a dramaturg and actors join him or her while in residence on the farm.

The selected play will have a national roll-out through the Ed Vassallo Relentless Reading Series, established to help bring to life and develop the winning play by presenting a series of staged readings at some of the top theaters across the United States.

When the winning play is selected, three runners-up will also be named.


Submissions will be accepted up until midnight of July 10, 2015. The winner and three finalists will be announced on October 2, 2015.

Eligibility/Criteria for Submission:

Any unproduced play written by a United States citizen is eligible for The Relentless Award.

Each play must be submitted with a letter from a theater professional recommending the play. “Theater Professional” is defined as anyone who has worked in theater in any artistic capacity for a minimum of four years.

Plays with a producer, producing organization or theater attached are not eligible.

As much as we love them, one-act plays, musicals and plays for children are not eligible.

The author must be at least 21 years old.

How to submit your play:

Use the form below to submit your play and accompanying letter of recommendation to The American Playwriting Foundation.

Please do not have your name or other identifying info (email/phone number) on any of your manuscript pages. This will preserve the author’s anonymity for the judges.

We prefer to receive your files as pdfs (rather than Word documents).

You will receive a confirmation email after we receive your files.



  • Title of play *
  • Your name (hidden from judges): *
    First Name Last Name
  • Email (hidden from judges): *
  • Phone (hidden from judges): *
     – Area Code Phone Number
  • Click to upload manuscript file (.pdf) *
    Max Total Upload Size: 8 MB
  • Click to upload letter of recommendation (.pdf) *
    Max Total Upload Size: 8 MB

In honor of Philip Seymour Hoffman, who relentlessly sought out truth in his work and demanded the same from his collaborators, The American Playwriting Foundation has been established to make annual grants to new American plays.

The Relentless Reading series is in honor of Actor/Producer Ed Vasallo, a cherished member of the New York arts community for more than 20 years. A graduate of Union College and Brandeis University’s MFA program, Vassallo was an energetic and vital member of LAByrinth Theater Company, where he produced the TENN99 and NYNY festivals and served as the company appointed member to the Board. In addition to his work at LAByrinth, Vassallo was a dedicated volunteer and mentor at The 52nd Street Project.  Vassallo’s producing credits include the short film F—K, which premiered at the Tribeca Film Festival (2010), the award winning feature film King Kelly (2012), and the IFC/Sundance Selects film Days and Nights (2014). Vassallo died in February 2014 after a 2 ½ year battle with leukemia. As an artist, mentor, educator, and friend, his passion for theater and his loving and compassionate nature was and will always be a source of inspiration.


Play Selection Committee

Eric Bogosian

Thomas Bradshaw

David Bar Katz

Lynn Nottage

John Ortiz

John Patrick Shanley

Jonathan Marc Sherman

Lucy Thurber

Artistic Advisors

Peter DuBois

Scott Elliott

Robert Falls

Mandy Greenfeld

Ethan Hawke

Dan Klores

Gregory Mosher

Austin Pendleton

Yul Vázquez

Executive Director/A.D.

David Bar Katz

Board Members

Judd Burstein

Jeffrey A. Horwitz (Chair)

David Bar Katz

Director of Creative Development

Laura Ramadei

Website Design

Georgia Rucker

Website Photos (portraits)

Monique Carboni


O&M Co.

Rick Miramontez


Proskauer Rose LLP


Anthony J. Bonsignore

Altman, Greenfield & Selvaggi LLP

For more information, please email


February 10, 2015 - Posted by | BUSINESS, CULTURE, ENTREPRENEURS, LIFESTYLES, opportunity, We Recommend | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: