LuckyGirl MEDIA recommends

Choices and Trends for Women "from Teens to Grandmothers"

Dance – 30th Annual Bessies Awards 10/20/14 *nyc –The Apollo

Monday, October 20, 2014

30th Annual Bessies Awards

Monday, October 20, 2014
7:30 pm

Apollo Theater
253 W 125th St.
New York, NY 10027

The Bessies turn 30 at the legendary Apollo Theater!

Tickets are on sale for this one-night-only anniversary ceremony, produced in proud partnership with Dance/NYC. Dedicated to saluting outstanding work in the field of dance, the evening will highlight and present performances by the artists recognized over the last three decades and celebrate the emerging and working artists of today. For a complete list of nominees click here.

To support the Bessies’ mission of recognizing the city’s dance artists, purchase an anniversary $30 at 30 to contribute to this long standing legacy and join the artists at the after party. For Bessie Angel tickets, which include priority orchestra seating and a special pre-show reception for a donation of $100, email

All other seating is $10. To purchase tickets, click here.

Dr. Chuck Davis to receive 2014 NY Dance and Performance Award for Service to the Field of Dance

Arthur Mitchell to receive 2014 NY Dance and Performance Award for Lifetime Achievement in Dance 

for more on these awards, click here

The 30th Annual Bessie Awards will take place on Monday, October 20, 2014 at 7:30 p.m. at the legendary Apollo Theater in New York City. Tickets are now on sale.

In July the 2014 Outstanding Emerging Choreographer Award was presented to two choreographers.  The first recipient, Jessica Lang, was recognized for the elegant works created for her newly formed company of dancers at the Joyce Theater in her transition from freelance choreographer to artistic director. Additionally, Jen Rosenblit was recognized for a Natural dance, performed at The Kitchen, for a confident voice investigating the fluidity of identity, the pulse of time, and the nature of what it is to dance.

At the ceremony at the Apollo, the following awards will be presented:

Outstanding Production Nominees (four awards will be presented)

Asase Yaa African American Dance Theatre Djembe in the New Millenium Kumble Theater for the Performing Arts

Camille A. Brown MR. TOL E. RAncE Produced by 651 Arts at Kumble Theater for the Performing Arts

Mallory Catlett This Was the End The Chocolate Factory

Liz Gerring Glacier Montclair State University

Maria Hassabi Premiere The Kitchen

John Jasperse Within Between New York Live Arts

Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker En Atendant/Cesena Brooklyn Academy of Music

Akram Khan Desh White Light Festival, Lincoln Center

Sarah Michelson 4 Whitney Museum of American Art

MIMULUS Cia de Danca Dolores The Joyce

Okwui Okpokwasili in collaboration with Peter Born Bronx Gothic Danspace

Aki Sasamoto Sunny in the Furnace The Kitchen


Outstanding Revival (one award will be presented)

Dark Swan by Nora Chipaumire The Joyce

Myth or Meth (or Maybe Moscow?) by Radiohole; Tom Murrin Full Moon Performance Festival at La MaMa

State of Heads by Donna Uchizono New York Live Arts

Bach Partita by Twyla Tharp American Ballet Theatre


Outstanding Performer (four awards will be presented)

Maggie Cloud in Passagen by Pam Tanowitz

Sean Donovan in the work of Witness Relocation, Jane Comfort, Faye Driscoll, and others

Julia Hausermann in Disabled Theater by Jerome Bel and Theater HORA

Sean Jackson in We Used to Hold by Lisa LaTouche as part of Rhythm in Motion

Mickey Mahar in the work of Miguel Gutierrez, Adrienne Truscott, Ryan McNamara, and Gillian Walsh

Angela “Angel” McNeal for her hip hop battle improvisations at Harlem Stage E-Moves 15 Battle

Sara Mearns, New York City Ballet

Aakash Odedra in James Brown, Get on the Good Foot, A Celebration in Dance organized and shaped by Otis Sallid at the Apollo Theater

Tiler Peck, New York City Ballet

Rebecca Serrell-Cyr in Fire Underground by Donna Uchizono

Linda Celeste Sims, Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater

Stuart Singer in Within Between by John Jasperse


Outstanding Music Composition/Sound Design

Simphiwe Dana, Giuliano Modarelli, and Complete Quartet for Exit/Exist choreographed by Gregory Maqom

G. Lucas Crane for This Was the End created by Mallory Catlett

Steven Taylor for Aubade choreographed by Douglas Dunn

Nicholas Young for his inventive tap ‘percussion platforms’ in Rhythm in Motion


Outstanding Visual Design

Thomas Dunn for New Work for the Desert by Beth Gill

Avram Finkelstein, Kathy Morganroth, and Jenny Mui of YMX by Yellowman; Patricia Forelle; Tamara Gonzales; and Nicholas Vermeer, Olivia Barr, and William Ward of NYC Resistor for Vectors, Marys, and Snow by Brooklyn Ballet

Peter Ksander, Olivera Gajic, Ryan Holsopple, Chris Kuhl, and Keith Skretch for This Was the End by Mallory Catlett

Tim Yip for Desh by Akram Khan


September 25, 2014 - Posted by | ART, BUSINESS, CULTURE, ENTREPRENEURS, FOOD AND WINE, LIFESTYLES, opportunity, We Recommend | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: